An Experiment

This week I tried out something new.

Before I read my scriptures I said a prayer. I asked the Lord to answer a question of mine, and then I opened my scriptures and read.

I’d heard about this approach before.

But I’d never actually done it.

To me, it seemed a little pretentious: opening up and just expecting the Lord to provide answers.

We don’t command the Lord.

But on revisiting the approach, it occurred to me that we call him our Heavenly Father. He wants us to be happy. And He, like any parent, is willing to give us, His children, what we need, if we’ll just open our mouths and ask for it.

So I did like Alma suggests in Alma 32.

I experimented.

I pondered over what question I should bring before the Lord. I said a prayer, and I opened my scriptures.

And there, about a half a page in, was my answer.

Coming up with the question wasn’t hard. I’d been laboring over it for so long. I’d spent hours in prayer just pouring out the thoughts of my heart. I’d asked Him countless times to tell me what to do. But I hadn’t given Him the time to answer.

It wasn’t until I turned to my Heavenly Father and said, “I don’t know what to do. I don’t know where to turn.” And asked Him to show me the way and then took it upon myself to look for the answer that I found it.

And because this was an experiment, I tried it once more.

Just to make sure.

Because that’s the scientific method.

And again, He answered. And then I invited my companion, Sister Harris, to try it, and she found answers. And we became so confident in the process that we invited others to give it a shot as well. And they also found answers. So now I’m inviting you to give it a go.

I know that as we (1) pray to the Lord and (2) ask the questions of our souls and then (3) search the scriptures, He will make known unto us those answers that we are in need of at this time. He gave us the scriptures for our learning and profit. We are meant to “liken” them to our own lives. There are great treasures of knowledge, even hidden treasures, within the pages of His holy word. And they’re ours for the taking.

So go ahead.

Give it a shot.

Ask your question and find your answer.

Leave a Reply

