Mary

This week I’ve been thinking a lot about Mary and the role that she plays in the story of Christ’s life.

I think about her "go and do" attitude as the Angel Gabriel appeared to her and informed her that she would be the mother of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I think about the fear she must have had, knowing that she could be killed if she were found to be unwed and with child. And despite very real danger, she trusted in the Lord and said, "be it unto me according to thy word" (Luke 1:38).

And then after raising that child to adulthood, she watched him die. Knowing that he too must perform the work He’d accepted before this world was.

I think about the challenges that I face in my life and how small they seem by comparison.

How can I ever complain or think my lot is hard?

The Lord never forsakes us. He never leaves us.

He always provides a way.

Life’s journey is not an easy one. We each have our own individual challenges. We each have trials that bring us to our knees begging for relief. But when we trust in the Lord completely–turn our will over to Him–and then go and do what He has required of us, we can recieve that peace. Not a peace of the world, but a much higher, deeper, all-encompassing peace.

Leave a Reply

