“For too long I’ve been parched of thirst and unable to quench it. Too long I’ve been starving to death and haven’t died.”

I don’t suppose Captain Barbossa meant to make a profound statement on the life of a college student . . . but, there it is.

The life of a college student.

In black and white.

This morning as I crunched through the dreary snow to my 8 AM class, running a little too late to eat breakfast, and a little too late to arrive on time, this is what I thought:
“For . . . too long I’ve been starving to death and haven’t died”.  

And then it hit me.  

I have been starving for years.

Not in a Ghandi sort of way.

And not in a I-can’t-get-proper-water-because-I-live-in-a-third-world-country sort of way.

But in a I’m-a-college-student-so-I-probably-definitely-eat-trash-all-the-time sort of way.

And that’s when I decided that I want for Christmas:

Food.  Real, not crap, food.

Leave a Reply

