252. Get Over My Fear of Volleyball

For as long of my earthly life as I can remember, I have always hated volleyball.

This may be due to the ridiculous amount of volleyballs that have taken it upon themselves to crash into my head . . . thus obliterating thousands of my hard-earned brain cells and musing my hair.

This also may be due to the fact that ALL Young Women sports days in my stake were more like volleyball days.

This also may be due to the fact that I am terrible at volleyball.

I mean really bad.

People who play volleyball with me suffer a fate worse than death.

But really.

So this summer, after much debate.

And emotional turmoil.

And physical sickness. 

I decided that it was time.  To get over my fear.

Because it might be slightly ridiculous to have an actual physical reaction to seeing a volleyball.

So I took it upon myself to practice my mad volleyball skills with my dear sweet roommate, Kara “Champion” Tenney.

This is because Kara is a volleyball machine.

Also Kara is half of Tachikara.


So we started our volleyball journey one sweet afternoon in the pool.

This turned out to be a really bad decision.

Why?

Because pools are really good at providing water resistance.

And as it turns out, water resistance is the antithesis of what I need.

So we brought our game to the court.  On a warm afternoon when the court was entirely deserted.  As it turns out, that really helped.  And that’s when I realized that I might not be quite as dismal as I had previously thought.  And after training late into the night on a few separate occasions I realized that I might no longer be afraid of volleyball.  And I might actually like it.  Maybe.

Leave a Reply

